Grief Counseling

Loss is an unavoidable part of life and can take many different forms—losing a loved one through death or separation, a job, a relationship, an idea or expectation, a way of life. Regardless of the nature of the loss itself, the grief that accompanies loss can be confusing, painful, pervasive, and even crippling. This is not an easy journey, nor is it one that you have to make in isolation.

In situations of grief counseling, it is my desire to be a patient companion and a guide for you in what can feel like the wilderness of grief. As someone who has experienced loss, I can identify with grief as well as testify to the possibility for healing and hope for the future. Grieving is a painful process that requires patience and looks different for each individual, but I am invested in your growth and complete healing.

Psychologist Elisabeth Kubler-Ross developed a general model for the phases of grief, particularly as it applies to those facing death and dying or a terminal illness. However, these phases of grieving can be applicable to a wide variety of losses. These stages are malleable both in content and sequence; grief, like all struggle and recovery, is an individual process.

Kubler-Ross outlined the following stages:

  • Denial- “This doesn’t feel real.”
  • Anger- “I don’t deserve this kind of pain.”
  • Bargaining- “If I fix this and this, if I become a better person, then maybe this pain will go away.”
  • Depression- “I can not fix this. This pain will not ever go away.”
  • Acceptance- “It is going to be okay.”

Whatever your grief looks like, however deep the loss, no matter how long the process, there is hope and I’d like to come alongside you in this time. To schedule an appointment, ∫.